Andrew Gold - ...Since 1951 (1996) {Japanese Release} .

Download Now

Andrew Gold - ...Since 1951 (1996) {Japanese Release} .

Andrew Gold - ...Since 1951 (1996) {Japanese Release}
EAC Rip | FLAC (Img) + Cue + Log ~ 356 Mb | MP3 CBR320 ~ 137 Mb
Full Scans ~ 113 Mb | RAR 5% Recovery
Rock, Pop | Pony Canyon Inc. #PCCY-01003

Andrew Maurice Gold was an American singer, songwriter, musician and arranger. His works include the Top 10 single "Lonely Boy" (1977), as well as "Thank You for Being a Friend" (1978) and "Never Let Her Slip Away" (1978). Gold was a multi-instrumentalist who played guitar, bass, keyboards, accordion, synthesizer, harmonica, saxophone, flute, drums and percussion, and more arcane musical devices such as ukulele, musette, and harmonium. He was also a producer, sound engineer, film composer, session musician, actor, and painter. Gold played and recorded with artists such as Carly Simon, Jennifer Warnes, Linda Ronstadt, Stephen Bishop, America, Nicolette Larson, Maria Muldaur, Neil Diamond, Barbi Benton, Eric Carmen, Juice Newton, Leo Sayer, Freddie Mercury, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Karla Bonoff, Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, John Lennon, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, Roy Orbison, Don Henley, Bette Midler, Diana Ross, Cher, Jesse McCartney and J. D. Souther. ~ Wiki

This is a great album from the late Andrew Gold which was only released in Japan in 1996. Most of the songs were co-written with Graham Gouldman (of 10cc fame) his partner in the duo Wax. Otherwise it's a typical Gold release, in that he plays virtually all instruments plus engineered and produced the effort. Linda Ronstadt sings harmony on one of the tracks. The title of course is a reference to the year when he was born. The booklet also includes some photo collages by Andrew Gold showing his family and friends/colleagues in the music business. Somehow I get the feeling that Andrew Gold was highly underrated as a performer - especially as a multiinstrumentalist - arranger and producer. He was quite prolific, and his work on Ronstadt's mid-seventies albums is a defining moment. Wonderful guitar playing graced her albums and his own as well. Especially his 12-string guitar sound, plus short and very effective guitar solos are worth mentioning. ~ Søren Matzen Andersen, Amazon

Since 1951 finds Gold continuing his trend of writing catchy, jangly pop songs, many of which are reminiscent of Del Amitri, like opener "Can Anybody See You," "First Time in Love," and "The Secret"; there's also a definite Jimmy Webb vibe to "The Best of Everything." In fact, there are several stylistic tips of the hat to other pop musicians, like Steely Dan on "Back on Top" or the Beach Boys on "Teardrops." Creatively, the only notable misstep is "Cyberspace," which, it must be said, sounds like an old fogey trying to keep up with the kids; fortunately, as experiments go, the instrumental "Main Title" is decidedly more successful, accomplishing its goal of creating the feel of a motion picture score.

The production throughout Since 1951 is stellar - to be expected from a guy who once handled such duties for 10cc - but it's particularly notable on such great-sounding songs as "Can't Get Used To Losing You" and "Baby's Got A Gun." By the way, although the songwriting credits aren't readily available, if the latter song isn't a co-write with Graham Gouldman, the 10cc stalwart who teamed with Gold to form the '80s band Wax ("Bridge to Your Heart"), then Gold's just learned a lot about his former co-conspirator's style, because it sounds just like a Gouldman song.

On the whole, these new songs are solid enough that the album doesn't need the unnecessary, god-awful, and presumably tongue-in-cheek "Lonely Boy Redux" that closes the disc. (Actually, it's not that bad on the whole...but the first minute of the track is excruciating.) Now that the album has been rescued from indie oblivion via Universal Music Enterprises and been made available for download via iTunes and other online outlets, here's hoping it gets investigated more than his previous several releases have been. ~ Will Harris

Andrew Gold - ...Since 1951 (1996) {Japanese Release} .

Track List:

01. Can Anybody See You [04:11]
02. Cyberspace [04:48]
03. Back On Top [04:37]
04. The King Of Showbiz [04:54]
05. First Time In Love [03:43]
06. Ready To Go Home [04:39]
07. That Belongs To You [04:14]
08. Teadrops [04:47]
09. The Secret [04:40]
10. Can't Get Used To Losing You [04:20]
11. Babys Got A Gun [04:17]
12. Watcha Think About That [04:06]
13. Safe And Sound [03:38]

Download link:

Links are Interchangeable - No Password - Single Extraction

Direct Download

Tags: Andrew, Japanese, Release

Andrew Gold - ...Since 1951 (1996) {Japanese Release} . Download via Hotfile Rapidshare Fileserve Megaupload & FileSonic, Andrew Gold - ...Since 1951 (1996) {Japanese Release} . free torrent downloads included crack, serial, keygen.


Members of Guest cannot leave comments.